Minutes of the
Town Meetings



Borough Officials


Memo From
The Mayor





Allegheny County

Contact Us

January 4, 2010

The recessed meeting of Castle Shannon Borough Council was called to order at 7:00 P.M. in the Council Chambers of the Castle Shannon Municipal Center, 3310 McRoberts Road, Castle Shannon, PA 15234 by President of Council, Regis J. Zezulewicz, Jr.

The following elected officials were present: Council Members: N. Kovach, J. O'Malley, M. Warhold, R.J. Zezulewicz, Jr., D. Baumgarten; S. Torris. Council Members R. Carlucci, M. Cheberenchick and P. Coffey were absent. The following appointed officials were present: D.R. Biondo, Solicitor; T. Hartswick, Borough Manager; and K. Truver, Police Chief. P. Vietmeier, Building Official and Junior Council Member K. Munson were absent.

Mr. Zezulewicz requested if there was other business that needed to be discussed before closing the 2009 year. Being none, Mr. Zezulewicz officially closed the continued meeting of December 14, 2009. Ms. O'Malley motioned to adjourn; Mr. Warhold seconded; all in favor; motion carried.

Allegheny County District Judge David Barton came forward to swear in the following elected officials: Council Members George Orr, Vince Smith and Mike Warhold; Mayor Don Baumgarten and Tax Collector Shirley Torris. Judge Barton stated that across the commonwealth officers of the judicial branch are called upon to administer the oath of office which dates back to the Pennsylvania State Constitution of 1776. Although council faces different challenges than the original participants, the oath of service continues to require, not just wisdom, but courage to make decisions for the good of the people. Council thanked Judge Barton for attending the council meeting and conducting the oath of office.

Mr. Zezulewicz presented the gavel to Mayor Baumgarten to commence the reorganization meeting for 2010. Mayor Baumgarten welcomed George Orr and Vince Smith to borough council. Mayor Baumgarten added that even though council may disagree on some issues, all members leave the meeting as friends. He advised council to listen to the residents requests and do what you can for the benefit of the community.

Mayor Baumgarten declared the next order of business is the election of President of Council for the next two years. Mr. Warhold nominated Regis Zezulewicz; Ms. O'Malley seconded.

Being no further nominations, Mr. Baumgarten requested the borough manager cast a unanimous vote for Regis Zezulewicz as President of Council.

Mr. Zezulewicz announced the office of Vice President of Council for the next two years is open for nominations. Mr. Warhold nominated Nancy Kovach; Mr. Orr seconded. Being no further nominations, Mr. Zezulewicz requested the borough manager cast a unanimous vote for Nancy Kovach as Vice President of Council.

Mr. Zezulewicz officially opened the reorganization meeting of January 4, 2010.

Mr. Zezulewicz opened the public comment section of the meeting. Being none, Mr. Zezulewicz closed the public comment section.

Mr. Zezulewicz announced the following council committee appointments:

Building & Grounds - Chairman Nancy Kovach Vince Smith; Assistant Chairman Michael Cheberenchick Michael Warhold
      Finance - Chairman Michael Cheberenchick; Assistant Chairman Vince Smith
      Library - Chairman George Orr; Assistant       Chairman Jean O'Malley
      Planning/Codes - Chairman Michael Warhold; Assistant Chairman George Orr
      Public Safety - Chairman Jean O'Malley; Assistant Chairman Nancy Kovach
      Public Works - Chairman Nancy Kovach; Assistant Chairman Michael Cheberenchick

Mr. Warhold motioned to re-appoint Marvin Levin, William Grand and Timothy Swisher to a four-year term on the Planning Commission; Ms. O'Malley seconded; all in favor; motion carried.

Ms. Kovach motioned to re-appoint David Ely to a three year term on the Zoning Hearing Board; Mr. Smith seconded; all in favor; motion carried.

Ms. Kovach motioned to re-appoint Larry Swimkosky and Shirley Nedzesky to a six year term on the Civil Service Commission; Ms. O'Malley seconded; all in favor; motion carried.

Ms. O'Malley motioned to re-appoint Joanne Ross and William Reffner to a four year term on the UCC Board of Appeals; Mr. Warhold seconded; all in favor; motion carried.

Mr. Biondo discussed an ongoing piece of litigation regarding signs and billboards. The proposed ordinance will be presented to the Planning Commission on January 18, 2010.

Ms. O'Malley motioned to adjourn the reorganization meeting; Mr. Orr seconded; all in favor; motion carried.


Castle Shannon

Police Reports

Police Alerts

Shannon News

Route 88
Construction Plans

Tax Office

Our History

Youth Activities


Keystone Oaks
School District

Castle Shannon

Planning & Codes

Site Map